

August 31, 2022

The Honorable Pete Buttigieg Secretary of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE Washington, D.C. 20590

Dear U.S. Secretary Buttigieg:

We are pleased to send you the following letter in strong support of the Maine Department of Transportation's (MaineDOT) application for the U.S. Department of Transportation's Ferry Service for Rural Communities Program. Through their application MaineDOT is requesting funding to assist with operational costs of the Maine State Ferry Service (MSFS).

The MSFS provides the primary link for passengers, vehicles, and freight to six island communities off the coast of Maine. These six islands—Frenchboro, Islesboro, Matinicus, North Haven, Swan's Island, and Vinalhaven—are rural and residents rely on ferry service for access to services, goods, and jobs on the mainland, as well as for emergency medical transport.

Like many industries over the past couple of years the MSFS has experienced challenges, including significant workforce shortages. The MSFS serves as the bridge to these island communities and residents and visitors alike depend on reliable service. The \$10 million in funding that MaineDOT is requesting would help relieve the impact of increased operating costs, as well as support new programs aimed at recruiting and retaining vessel crews to enhance ferry service.

We as legislators have the unique opportunity of representing constituents who live on an island and we understand from speaking with them how important the ferry service is to their livelihood. It is a critical lifeline to the mainland. It is for these reasons that we fully support MaineDOT and their request for funding through this discretionary grant program, and we urge you to give their application full consideration. Please do not hesitate to contact any of us with questions you might have regarding this letter or our support.

Sincerely,

Chip Curry State Senator Nicole C. Grohoski State Senator

Naide C Goboli

Doubthet

David Miramant State Senator Victoria W. Doudera State Representative

Vidora W Touder

Ann H. Matlack State Representative

Dom Miggins marlack

S. Paige Zeigler, Jr. State Representative